Hello world!

One would not be wrong to ask, “Why would a college student with five classes hanging over his head, 15 hours of work a week, three e-board positions in extracurriculars and a pile, that is to say, piles, of homework bother writing a blog?” One possible answer is that he has no friends, which I might expect would be well-though, especially in the near future, when I start posting more of my thoughts. As C. S. Lewis says, however, it is exhilarating to find out that there is some people out there that are very much like you. So, in short, that’s not why I am here, I am not interested in cyber-friends. If that’s what you were looking for, well, I have very little time to sleep, never mind make new friends across the globe.

Now, let me rephrase that. I do not mean that I have taken the time to make this blog just so I can spew out my thoughts and have only my friends see it, if I did, I would have made it private. What I mean when I say that I am not here to make friends is that I don’t want to add you on Facebook, I don’t want you to follow me on twitter (even though I don’t have an account), or anything like that. I hope that my thoughts can stimulate you, I hope that they will kick you into thinking mode, and I hope that at some point I will offend you. I have been studying philosophy under a world-famous scholar, who has published over sixty books and has been translated into several different languages. If you looked at his corrections on my papers, you’d think that I was failing his classes and that he thoroughly hated me and then you would spot the grade. If you ever think that I am being insufferable and that I need to be responded, then comment, let us talk about it, let us see if we can learn something from each other. Now, who would you rather have as a friend, the weird guy or girl who likes your posts on Facebook or the one who may help you cultivate your soul.

So, subscribe to me or don’t, like me or don’t, hopefully you will get to learn something about yourself and something about Plato by reading the upcoming posts.

One comment on “Hello world!

  1. davor says:

    “The higher philosophical man, who has solitude not because he wishes to be alone but because he is something that finds no equals…” (Fr. Nietzsche WP514).

Leave a Reply

